Exciting Music Lately

I just wanted to mention who I’ve been listening to lately while I sit on at least ten ideas for new posts, most of which I have not started yet (but I’ll get to them – eventually, at least).

  • First and foremost, Sleater-Kinney. Once I realized the day that their new album came out, I eagerly waited until midnight to start streaming it. I heard “Hurry On Home” and “The Future is Here” about a month ago, but besides “Hurry On Home” I wasn’t SUPER excited about the new album…until I heard the “Can I Go On” single that got mixed in to my L7 radio station on Pandora. Since this is a quick post I won’t go too deep into my thoughts on it, but personally I like about half of it, and all of it I respect the band for trying in the first place. I wish I could see the band when they come to Seattle in a couple months but I’m hesitant to buy a ticket because I don’t know that I’d want to see them (for the first time, I should mention – since I became a fan just earlier this year) without Janet Weiss. I LOVE SLEATER-KINNEY, BUT COME ON…fucking great drummers are not easily replaced. Which I will surely say about any band, including my favorite ones.
  • While I’ve been doing research trying to broaden my knowledge and listening experiences of rock bands consisting of Black women (and I don’t just mean bands fronted by Black women), I discovered Big Joanie. I’ve listened to Sistahs (2018) and I loved all of it but a couple tracks, which is to say, for a debut effort, it’s PRETTY AMAZING.
  • Thunderpussy goes without saying. For me, it’s almost like, a day without listening to Thunderpussy isn’t a day lived well. And their new single, “Never Know”? Let’s just say I’M DYING WITHOUT THE NEW EP just kidding I’m fine but I’ll be better than fine once I get to hear the rest of it the band hasn’t disappointed me musically yet. I’m grateful for their existence (and existences) every freakin’ day I wake up on this planet. You could say I appreciate them a lot.
  • Another band I discovered whilst researching, from this SUPER great article I read on them (which I read before I’d heard them), T-Rextasy. They’re coming to Seattle soon and I’m DYING to see them but I don’t know if I have the time or resources to go…which I’m super disappointed about. I love Prehysteria (2019) and most of Jurassic Punk (2016).
  • After knowing about this band for awhile now via my favorite punk artist Alice Bag, I FINALLY started listening to Fatty Cakes and the Puff Pastries today and OH MY GOD. The bite, humor, and shamelessness woven into the great music is such a fun and positive experience, I’m totally going to listen to them when I’m feeling shitty. I especially love that their songs take on subjects that are not often covered in punk and rock (like “Fat Girl Tears” and “Best Friends”). Their self-titled is a great debut album (and was produced by Alice Bag! Even better!).
  • Finally, L7, since I mentioned that I’ve been listening to the L7 radio station on Pandora. I discovered through the station that I like a few other artists/bands that I hadn’t listened to much before, too, which is cool (like PJ Harvey and 7 Year Bitch). I’ve also probably been listening to L7 every day, like Thunderpussy, because I just don’t get tired of them.

One thought on “Exciting Music Lately

  1. I just don’t get tired of YOU, Lily, or your writing. I especially enjoy your music reviews, even though the music is often not my style at all. Your enthusiasm, your commitment to diversity, and the way you write about both the bands and their music give me insight into why you love them so much, and why others might also. Keep up the great work, Lily!!

    Like

Leave a comment